Tuesday Study

Note: Study Schedule is subject to change – check back for updates!

Annual Precept Study (Begins Tuesday, March 6)
Click here to read about precepts in Soto Zen (precept study is open to all)
Click here for a text of the 16 Bodhisattva Precepts
Suggested text (not all classes may refer to the text, but it’s a good source for study outside of class): Mind of Clover by Robert Aitken
Classes led by Domyo unless otherwise noted

Click here for recordings of classes that have already happened

Tuesday, March 6
Precepts Class One: Intro to the Bodhisattva Precepts, the Confession Verse and the Three Pure Precepts – led by Domyo

Tuesday, March 13
Precepts Class Two: Do not kill – cultivate and encourage life – led by Frankie

Tuesday, March 20
Precepts Class Three: Do not steal – honor the gift not yet given – led by Janna

Tuesday, March 27
Precepts Class Four: Do not misuse sexuality – remain faithful in relationships – led by Myoju

Tuesday, April 3
Precepts Class Five: Do not speak dishonestly – communicate truthfully – led by Shoketsu

Tuesday, April 10
Precepts Class Six: Do not become intoxicated – polish clarity, dispel delusion/Not abusing intoxicants – led by Logan

Tuesday, April 17
Precepts Class Seven: Do not dwell on past mistakes – create wisdom from ignorance/Not discussing the faults of others – led by Dawn and Mark

Tuesday, April 24
Precepts Class Eight: Do not praise self or blame others – maintain modesty, extol virtue

Tuesday, May 1
Precepts Class Nine: Do not be mean with dharma or wealth – share understanding, give freely of self

Tuesday, May 8
Precepts Class Ten: Do not indulge anger – cultivate equanimity – led by Richard

Tuesday, May 15th
Precepts Class Four: Do not defame the three treasures – respect the buddha, unfold the dharma, nourish the sangha – led by Domyo