Select Page

Precept Study Group 2021: 11 Meetings

Sangha Member Talk
Annual Precept Study Classes 2021: 11-Class Series

Precept Study Group: 11 Meetings

We study the Buddhist moral precepts every year (click here for information on our 2021 Tuesday class series on the topic).  Click here to learn more about the Zen Bodhisattva Precepts, practicing with the precepts in our lineage, and other suggested study texts.

For those who want additional time to discuss the precepts in a more informal setting, or for those for whom Tuesday evening class Pacific Time (8-9pm) is too late in your time zone, consider joining this peer-led study group which will follow the same schedule of topics as the Tuesday classes.

The study group will happen at the same Zoom as our other events, with the same password. It will be held from 5-6pm Pacific, 7-8pm Central, 8-9pm Eastern, and 9-10pm Brazil Time. There is no need to register. Feel free to email us (info[at]brightwayzen.org) if you have any questions.

Click Here for Zoom login instructions.

Upcoming Study Schedule: 

April 15th – Karma Verse, Taking Refuge, and the Three Pure Precepts

April 22nd – Do not kill – cultivate and encourage life.

April 29th – Do not steal – honor the gift not yet given.

May 6th – Do not misuse sexuality – remain faithful in relationships.

May 13th – Do not speak dishonestly – communicate truthfully.

May 20th – Do not become intoxicated – polish clarity, dispel delusion.

May 27th – Do not dwell on past mistakes – create wisdom from ignorance.

 June 3rd – Do not praise self or blame others – maintain modesty, extol virtue.

June 10th – Do not be mean with dharma or wealth – share understanding, give freely of self.

 June 17th – Do not indulge anger – cultivate equanimity.

June 24th – Do not defame the three treasures: Respect the buddha. Unfold the dharma. Nourish the sangha.

Sangha Member Talk
Annual Precept Study Classes 2021: 11-Class Series

You can join us in our Cloud Zendo (Zoom) or Dirt Zendo (our physical space). Everyone attending the Dirt Zendo needs to submit proof of full vaccination, including at least one booster shot. Masks are optional but we support your choice to wear one.

Before attending one of our meetings in person, see our COVID updates page for more instructions. See our Online Practice page for how to join us in the Cloud Zendo.

This Week at BWZ