All meetings and events are open to the public unless otherwise indicated. Because of COVID-19, all of our meetings are online until further notice.
Check our COVID updates page for info on our timeline for re-opening for in-person meetings, and our Online Practice page for how to join us by Zoom.

Please note that all event times are listed in PACIFIC TIME. Click here for a handy Time Zone Converter.

Bright Way Zen Staff: Click here for the Staffing Spreadsheet, and here for staffing Google calendar.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Precept Study Group 2021: 11 Meetings

April 15 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

|Recurring Events (See all)

An event every week that begins at 5:00 pm on Thursday, repeating until June 24, 2021

Sangha Member Talk
Annual Precept Study Classes 2021: 11-Class Series

Precept Study Group: 11 Meetings

We study the Buddhist moral precepts every year (click here for information on our 2021 Tuesday class series on the topic).  Click here to learn more about the Zen Bodhisattva Precepts, practicing with the precepts in our lineage, and other suggested study texts.

For those who want additional time to discuss the precepts in a more informal setting, or for those for whom Tuesday evening class Pacific Time (8-9pm) is too late in your time zone, consider joining this peer-led study group which will follow the same schedule of topics as the Tuesday classes.

The study group will happen at the same Zoom as our other events, with the same password. It will be held from 5-6pm Pacific, 7-8pm Central, 8-9pm Eastern, and 9-10pm Brazil Time. There is no need to register. Feel free to email us (info[at]brightwayzen.org) if you have any questions.

Click Here for Zoom login instructions.

Upcoming Study Schedule: 

April 15th – Karma Verse, Taking Refuge, and the Three Pure Precepts

April 22nd – Do not kill – cultivate and encourage life.

April 29th – Do not steal – honor the gift not yet given.

May 6th – Do not misuse sexuality – remain faithful in relationships.

May 13th – Do not speak dishonestly – communicate truthfully.

May 20th – Do not become intoxicated – polish clarity, dispel delusion.

May 27th – Do not dwell on past mistakes – create wisdom from ignorance.

 June 3rd – Do not praise self or blame others – maintain modesty, extol virtue.

June 10th – Do not be mean with dharma or wealth – share understanding, give freely of self.

 June 17th – Do not indulge anger – cultivate equanimity.

June 24th – Do not defame the three treasures: Respect the buddha. Unfold the dharma. Nourish the sangha.

Sangha Member Talk
Annual Precept Study Classes 2021: 11-Class Series

Details

Date:
April 15
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Events Category:

Venue

Bright Way Zen
12020 SW Barnes Rd
Portland, OR 97225 United States
Phone:
(971) 770-1299
View Venue Website

Teacher

Domyo Burk