Weekday Morning Live Meditation Online

Join us for weekday meditation online from 7:30-8:30am Pacific Time (U.S.), Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays.

Meditation is hosted by Domyo using “Zoom” videoconferencing, so you can see Domyo and other participants on your computer, tablet, or smart phone screen – and we can see you, if you chose. It can be surprisingly motivating to sit with other people, even virtually!

 

One of our Zoom meditation sessions - note you can choose to be seen, or opt for an image or icon.

One of our Zoom meditation sessions – note you can choose to be seen, or opt for an image or icon.

To participate in the online meditation, simply download the free “Zoom” application (program) to your device or computer using these steps:

Downloading and Using Zoom on a Tablet or Smart Phone

Downloading and Using Zoom on a Computer


Note: Laptops, tablets, and smart phones are ideal for this purpose because they have a built-in camera and can be positioned to show you meditating.

Tech Support: Domyo can’t offer tech support during the meditation session, but please feel free to contact her by email (info[at]brightwayzen.org) if you need any help downloading Zoom or participating in the meeting!

Also – It is not necessary to sign up for a Zoom account when you download or use the app. However, if you do sign up it’s a free account and Zoom won’t harass you about subscribing or upgrading or anything. (Bright Way has a paid account that allows us to host meetings.) Zoom is a very above-board company with great customer service, so don’t worry about downloading their product. 

 

Downloading and Using Zoom on a Tablet or Smart Phone:

Step One

The Zoom App on iTunes

The Zoom App on iTunes

To download the Zoom app to a tablet or smart phone, go to your app store (iTunes or Google Play), search for “Zoom,” download, and open.

 

Step Two

Zoom iPhone App - Opening Screen - Join a Meeting - ArrowOnce you have opened the Zoom app, click “Join a Meeting.”

 

Step Three

Zoom iPhone App - Type in Meeting IDOn the Join a Meeting screen, type in the Meeting ID for Bright Way’s meditation session: 722-532-8943

 

 

 

Zoom iPhone App - Choose Meeting Number - ArrowsNote: after you have typed in the meeting ID once, you won’t have to do it again. Instead, you can click on the arrow next to “Meeting ID” and select the meeting ID you want.

Step Four

Zoom iPhone App - Change Settings - ArrowsOnce you have the Meeting ID entered on the Join a Meeting screen, choose your meeting settings. 

(1) Type in the name you want displayed with your video feed or icon during the meditation. Ideally, use your first name and your city or country so we know where you are!

(2) If you need to keep silence, you may want to choose “Don’t Connect to Audio” (you won’t be able to hear anything, including the bells for meditation).

(3) If you would prefer not to be seen, choose “Turn Off My Video.” You will still be able to see others, and they will see you as a generic icon along with your name.

Note: your video and audio settings can also be adjusted once you are in the meeting.

Sign up for ZoomNote: if you meditate with us regularly and don’t want to have to type your name every time, you may want to Sign Up for Zoom. It’s a free account, and it let’s you decide what your username is. Then you can “Sign In” before joining each meeting.

 

Step Five

Zoom iPhone App - Click Join- ArrowClick Join to join the meditation session! Domyo will have the meeting going about 5 minutes before a meditation session officially starts.

Note: when you join the meeting, you will automatically be muted (you will hear the meeting but we won’t hear anything from you or your environment). If you want to join in with the chanting, you can unmute yourself at that time.

 

Downloading and Using Zoom on a Computer:

Step One

To download the Zoom app to a computer, go to https://zoom.us/download and download “Zoom Client for Meetings.”

Downloading the Zoom app on a computer

Downloading the Zoom app on a computer

Zoom Computer App - Click Join

Step Two

Open the Zoom app and click “Join.”

Step Three

Zoom Computer App - Meeting ID and Name(1) On the Join a Meeting screen, type in the Meeting ID for Bright Way’s meditation session: 722-532-8943

(2) Type in the name you want displayed with your video feed or icon during the meditation. Ideally, use your first name and your city or country so we know where you are!

 

Step Four

Zoom Computer App - Meeting SettingsOnce you have the Meeting ID entered on the Join a Meeting screen, choose your meeting settings. 

(1) If you need to keep silence, you may want to choose “Don’t Connect to Audio” (you won’t be able to hear anything, including the bells for meditation).

(2) If you would prefer not to be seen, choose “Turn Off My Video.” You will still be able to see others, and they will see you as a generic icon along with your name.

Note: your video and audio settings can also be adjusted once you are in the meeting.

Step Five

Zoom Computer App - Click Join 2Click Join to join the meditation session! Domyo will have the meeting going about 5 minutes before a meditation session officially starts.

Note: when you join the meeting, you will automatically be muted (you will hear the meeting but we won’t hear anything from you or your environment). If you want to join in with the chanting, you can unmute yourself at that time.

 

Online Weekday Morning Meditation Schedule

Wednesdays, Thursdays
& Fridays
7:30-8:30am Pacific Time (US)

Feel free to join or leave the meditation at any time. It’s nice if you make a small bow (hands in gassho, or “prayer” position) when you join and before you leave.

7:25Meeting available on Zoom
7:30-7:55 – Zazen
7:55 – Posture adjustment bell
7:55-8:20 – Zazen
8:20Chant Heart Sutra & Four Bodhisattva Vows*
8:30 – Greeting & end of meeting

*Chanting is a traditional part of our practice but participation is optional. Click here for a pdf of the chant.

Need to figure out what time we’ll be sitting in your time zone?

Click here to use the Time Zone Converter!

Quick Reference:

New Zealand: 4:30-5:30am
Hawaii: 5:30-6:30am
Alaska: 6:30-7:30am
US Pacific: 7:30-8:30am
US Mountain: 8:30-9:30am
US Central/Mexico: 9:30-10:30am
US Eastern/Columbia: 10:30-11:30am
Nova Scotia/Bolivia: 11:30am-12:30pm
Greenland/Argentina: 12:30-1:30pm
Greenwich/Senegal: 3:30-4:30pm
Central European/Nigeria: 4:30-5:30pm
Eastern European/South Africa: 5:30-6:30pm
Moscow/Somalia: 6:30-7:30pm
Iran: 7-8pm
India: 9-10pm

Don’t Be Shy!

Join by video!

Your presence in the meditation session feels more real to others when they can see you. No need to get dressed up – we’re just meditating!

Nice to See You

Alternatively, you can point your camera at your altar or something else to represent your presence!

Jizo