Select Page

List of Upcoming Events & Retreats

Saturday, Feb 25
  • Term Student Opening Retreat - Term Students Only
    Starts: Saturday, Feb 25 - 4:30 PM
    Ends: Sunday, Feb 26 - 12:30 AM


    Description:

    Term students only (must be enrolled in the term student program).

Saturday, Mar 18
  • Board of Directors Strategic Planning Retreat
    Starts: Saturday, Mar 18 - 5:00 PM
    Ends: Saturday, Mar 18 - 10:00 PM


Saturday, Apr 8
  • Community Potluck Lunch
    Starts: Saturday, Apr 8 - 7:00 PM
    Ends: Saturday, Apr 8 - 9:00 PM

    Location: Bright Way Zen, 12020 SW Barnes Rd, Portland, OR 97225, United States


    Description:

    Join us for a completely informal community lunch. Bring a vegetarian dish, or a beverage or dessert. Friends and family welcome.

Sunday, Apr 9
  • Wesak Ceremony (Festival of the Buddha's Birth)
    Starts: Sunday, Apr 9 - 6:15 PM
    Ends: Sunday, Apr 9 - 7:00 PM


    Description:

    Wesak commemorates the birth of Shakyamuni Buddha (traditionally held on April 8th).

Saturday, May 20
  • Term Student Closing Retreat - Term Students Only
    Starts: Saturday, May 20 - 3:30 PM
    Ends: Saturday, May 20 - 11:30 PM


    Description:

    For term students only (must be enrolled in the term student program).

Sunday, May 21
  • Jukai (Taking the Precepts and Formally Becoming a Buddhist)
    Starts: Sunday, May 21 - 6:15 PM
    Ends: Sunday, May 21 - 7:00 PM


Saturday, Jun 10
  • Community Potluck Lunch
    Starts: Saturday, Jun 10 - 7:00 PM
    Ends: Saturday, Jun 10 - 9:00 PM

    Location: Bright Way Zen, 12020 SW Barnes Rd, Portland, OR 97225, United States


    Description:

    Join us for a completely informal community lunch. Bring a vegetarian dish, or a beverage or dessert. Friends and family welcome.

Saturday, Sep 23
  • Term Student Opening Retreat - Term Students Only
    Starts: Saturday, Sep 23 - 3:30 PM
    Ends: Saturday, Sep 23 - 11:30 PM


    Description:

    Term students only (must be enrolled in the term student program).

Sunday, Sep 24
  • Founder's Day Ceremony
    Starts: Sunday, Sep 24 - 5:30 PM
    Ends: Sunday, Sep 24 - 6:00 PM


    Description:

    This ceremony honors our temple founder, Rev. Kyogen Carlson, and his teacher Roshi Jiyu Kennett, around the anniversary of their deaths.

Sunday, Oct 22
  • Segaki Festival
    Starts: Sunday, Oct 22 - 6:15 PM
    Ends: Sunday, Oct 22 - 7:00 PM


Saturday, Nov 18
  • Community Potluck Lunch
    Starts: Saturday, Nov 18 - 8:00 PM
    Ends: Saturday, Nov 18 - 10:00 PM

    Location: Bright Way Zen, 12020 SW Barnes Rd, Portland, OR 97225, United States


    Description:

    Join us for a completely informal community lunch. Bring a vegetarian dish, or a beverage or dessert. Friends and family welcome.

Sunday, Dec 3
  • Rohatsu Sesshin at Great Vow
    Starts: Sunday, Dec 3 - 12:00 AM
    Ends: Sunday, Dec 10 - 11:59 PM

    Location: Great Vow


Saturday, Dec 16
  • Term Student Closing Retreat - Term Students Only
    Starts: Saturday, Dec 16 - 4:30 PM
    Ends: Sunday, Dec 17 - 12:30 AM


    Description:

    For term students only (must be enrolled in the term student program).

Saturday, Dec 23
  • Holiday Break (no scheduled events)
    Starts: Saturday, Dec 23 - 12:00 AM
    Ends: Saturday, Dec 30 - 11:59 PM